National Small Business Week will be celebrated this week



For nearly 60 years, the Small Business Administration (SBA) has held National Small Business Week to honor outstanding entrepreneurs and shine a spotlight on the nation’s small businesses, which now total more than 30 million. In 2020, National Small Business Week has gone virtual and will take place the third week in September. U.S. Small Business Administration Administrator Jovita Carranza will highlight it via a national Recovery, Adaptation and Innovation virtual conference September 22 – 24 with an emphasis on how small businesses have pivoted and retooled in light of the coronavirus pandemic.

National Small Business Week, typically held in May with in-person award ceremonies in Washington, D.C., is a tribute to the nation’s small businesses, many of which are veteran-, womenand minority-owned, for their achievements and dedication to their communities. Along with recognizing the national award winners, including 2020’s National Small Business Person of the Year, this year’s national virtual event will feature business expert presentations, mentoring, and online networking designed to help the nation’s entrepreneurs retool, pivot and recover toward a stronger economy.

“America’s small business owners exemplify the epitome of persistence every day and have done so more than ever throughout this COVID-19 pandemic. It is only fitting that during this time, SBA’s National Small Business Week celebrates their contributions to our nation and we reinforce our endless commitment to empowering those who help create jobs and drive America’s economy,” said SBA Great Lakes Regional Administrator Rob Scott.

In recognition of National Small Business Week, SBA’s Minnesota district will recognize its 2020 area winners at local events around the state in the weeks ahead. Minnesota winners include:

• Small Business Person of
the Year—Paula Trenda,
Curly Girlz Candy, Inc.,
• Exporter of the Year—David

Garcia, Jr. and James
Masterlark, AMMI Risk Solutions, Inc., Eagan
• Minority-Owned Small
Business of the Year—Chiamaka Enemuoh, Lifestone
Health Care, Inc., Proctor
• Minority Small Business
Champion of the Year—
ChaQuana McEntyre, Family
Rise Together, Duluth
• SBDC Excellence & Innovation Center of the Year—Michael Hahn, Small Business
Development Center – South
Central Region, Mankato
• Veteran-Owned Small
Business of the Year – Team—
Michael Dukart, Christopher
Dukart and Jeffrey Dukart,

The Industry TV, LLC,
• Veteran Small Business
Champion of the Year—Sean
Richards, American Crystal
Sugar Moorhead Factory,
• Women in Business Champion of the Year—Amalia
Moreno-Damgaard, Women
Entrepreneurs of Minnesota,
Eden Prairie
• Women-Owned Small
Business of the Year—Ingrid
Christensen, INGCO International, Minneapolis
• Women’s Business Center
of Excellence—Sarah Pike,
WomenVenture, Minneapolis
• Young Entrepreneur of
the Year—Bethany Wood,
HealthSource of St. Paul
Grand Avenue, St. Paul

“Minnesota’s SBA 2020 Small Business Week winners are all great examples of the innovative mindset and local community involvement that make our state’s 500,000 plus small businesses the driving force behind our economy,” said Brian McDonald, SBA’s Minnesota district director. “Their grit and determination in leading their companies are an inspiration to us all.”

National Small Business Week also will recognize small business advocates for their involvement in disaster recovery, government contracting and their support for small businesses and their owners. Awards will be presented to SBA partners in financial and entrepreneurial development.

For free registration to the virtual conference and additional information on National Small Business Week, visit and follow #SmallBusiness Week on social media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.